Using our Words

The day I discovered Wordle, I was excited like a little kid with a new toy.  I love words, always have.  Seems obvious for someone who earns her living crafting stories.   Lucky for me, that feeling rarely goes away.  What I love most about the Wordle effect is the emotional, intuitive weight that each word gains by being stripped of grammatical connectors.  It gives it a certain elegance, poetry.   So it was a great day when I discovered the New York Times version of their “Tag Cloud.”  It’s called “How do you feel about the economy?”  Not as pretty as a Wordle, but yet quite powerful.   Hundreds of readers, may be thousands, sending one word a day, creating slowly, this giant emotional cloud.  A simple way to anonymously answer the big question “How do you feel?” I entered my first word on the first day of April, it was “hopeful.”  On that day, the biggest word was “Stressed.”  Today, the two biggest words are “optimistic” and “hopeful.”   Made me feel good.

~ by Cécile on June 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
