From the Archives: January 2008

After four years away and nine back surgeries I got to ski again this year. I didn’t know if I would ever ski again. Now I literally feel like I have a new lease on life. It’s incredible. I have no pain after the last surgery. NO PAIN. I was with Rose Abello from Holland America (Cécile was supposed to be there, but she punked out!) and we hit a storm in 18-inches of snow. It was great. I’m actually skiing better form-wise. I have to stand up straighter. The mechanics are different, so I had to adjust. Now I mostly ski through my hips. I’m taking my son helicopter skiing next winter. All of my buddies have gotten to go all of these years, and next year I’ll be back there with them. I’ve been skiing since I was four years old.

— Bruce

Just finished reading “The Brain that Changes itself” by Norman Doidge. It’s insightful, accessible and reads like a detective novel-for nerds. If you want to know the latest on neuroscience and the brain-a very important organ-you have to read this book.

Cécile

~ by strablogadmin on February 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
