From the Archives: February 2008

Anyone who knows me knows I love Japan. I just went to Vietnam on my honeymoon. The country is bursting with energy. It’s full of entrepreneurs. There’s a very high interest in technology. I met a 21-year old kid named Phong. He graduated from the University of Hai Phon and was our translator when we went to Halong Bay. His English is impeccable. But he wants to improve it. We got to talking and he told me he only had access to computer in office of the boat company he works for. I couldn’t get him out of my mind. So I bought him a computer. All I asked was that he teach as many people as he could. He just wants to get out to the world and understand what things are like outside of Vietnam. He was very interested in PhotoShop so I got him a copy. He didn’t even know Intel was building a factory there. I put him in touch with the right people and now he’s interviewing for a job. I may bring him to the States next summer. Just to show him the world.

— Bruce

~ by strablogadmin on February 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
